Local Community Leaders & Influencers:

  • Kathey Coffey — Mayor
    • kathy.coffey@yakimawa.gov
  • John Weisman, DrPH, MPH – Secretary of Health
    • secretary@doh.wa.gov
  • Kathy Lofy, MD – State Health Officer
    • (360) 236-4246
  • Yakima Health District:
    • (509) 249-6508
  • Yakima City Council:
    • District 1: Dulce Gutierrez — dulce.gutierrez@yakimawa.gov
    • District 3: Carmen Mendez— carmen.mendez@yakimawa.gov
    • District 4: Kay Funk—kay.funk@yakimawa.gov
    • District 5/ Mayor: Kathy Coffey—kathy.coffey@yakimawa.gov
    • District 6: Brad Hill—brad.hill@yakimawa.gov
    • District 7: Holly Cousens —holly.cousens@yakimawa.gov

Cancer

  • From 2011-2015, the average annual number of cancer cases in men in Yakima County, Washington were 478.
  • Age-adjusted rate: 416.4/per 100,000 (0.416%)

Prostate Cancer

  • From 2011-2105, 102 cases of prostate cancer were reported on average each year in men in Yakima County, Washington.
  • This is an age-adjusted rate of 87.2/per 100,000 (0.087%)

*Testicular Cancer

  • In 2016, there were a reported 250 cases of testicular cancer in Washington.
  • Age-adjusted rate: 6.8/per 100,000 (0.006%)
    • United States Cancer Statistics
  • Resources:
    • Astria Health: provides highly advanced oncology and hematology services along with support for emotional and spiritual needs.
      • (509) 575-5000

Heart Disease

  • From 2014-2016, Yakima County recorded a 213.1 heart disease death rate/per 100,000 in men (0.231%).

Stroke

  • Resources:
    • Yakima Heart Center: provider of cardiac and vascular services in Yakima, Washington.
      • (509) 248-7715

Diabetes

  • Resources:
    • Diabetes and Chronic Disease Education: Virginia Mason Memorial offers an education program about diabetes and chronic diseases. This program from the International Diabetes Center delivers basic education for patients to understand and take care of their diabetes on a daily basis.
      • (509) 249-5243

*Pre-Diabetes

*Suicide

  • In 2017, 1,001 men in Washington committed suicide. (Population: 3,703,473)
  • Age-adjusted death rate: 26.48/per 100,000 (0.026%)
  • Resources:
    • National Alliance on Mental Illness, Yakima: Comprehensive Crisis Staff are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week in Yakima County. Highly trained professionals assess and stabilize crises by providing immediate intervention, and by facilitating further treatment as needed – by telephone, in person, or by referral to additional community resources.
      • (509) 575-4200

*Obesity

  • In 2017, 28.2% of men in Washington were Obese.
  • Washington’s adult obesity rate is 27.7%
    • Source Citation: Trust for America’s Health and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The State of Obesity 2018. Washington, D.C.: 2018.
  • Resources:
    • The Memorial Foundation, Healthy Yakima: The Memorial Foundation help fund many programs to promote health and wellness. One of these programs is the childhood obesity prevention.
      • General Information: (509) 576-5794

*state statistics