Local Community Leaders & Influencers:

  • Bill de Blasio— Mayor
    • 311 within city limits
    • (212) NEW-YORK outside city limits
  • NYC Board of Health
    • Oxiris Barbot, MD – NYC Dept. of Health, Health Commissioner
  • New York City, City Council:
No. Member Email
1 Margaret S. Chin mguerra@council.nyc.gov
2 Carlina Rivera District2@council.nyc.goc
3 Corey Johnson SpeakerJohnson@council.nyc.gov
4 Keith Powers kpowers@council.nyc.gov
5 Ben Kallos BKallos@BenKallos.com
6 Helen Rosenthal Helen@HelenRosenthal.com
7 Mark Levine District7@council.nyc.gov
8 Diana Ayala DAyala@council.nyc.gov
9 Bill Perkins D09perkins@council.nyc.gov
10 Ydanis Rodriguez yrodriguez@council.nyc.gov
11 Andrew Cohen District11@council.nyc.gov
12 Andy King Andy.King@council.nyc.gov
13 Mark Gjonaj MGjonaj@council.nyc.gov
14 Fernando Cabrera fcabrera@council.nyc.gov
15 Ritchie J. Torres Rtorres@council.nyc.gov
16 Vanessa L. Gibson District16Bronx@council.nyc.gov
17 Rafael Salamanca Jr. salamanca@council.nyc.gov
18 Ruben Diaz, Sr. RDiaz@council.nyc.gov
19 Paul Vallone district19@council.nyc.gov
20 Peter Koo pkoo@council.nyc.gov
21 Francisco Moya FMoya@council.nyc.gov
22 Costa Constantinides
23 Barry Grodenchik BGrodenchik@council.nyc.gov
24 Rory I. Lancman RLancman@council.nyc.gov
25 Daniel Dromm dromm@council.nyc.gov
26 Jimmy Van Bramer JVanBramer@council.nyc.gov
27 I. Daneek Miller District27@council.nyc.gov
28 Adrienne E. Adams Adams@council.nyc.gov
29 Karen Koslowitz Koslowitz@council.nyc.gov
30 Robert Holden District30@council.nyc.gov
31 Donovan J. Richards drichards@council.nyc.gov
32 Eric A. Ulrich eulrich@council.nyc.gov
33 Stephen T. Levin slevin@council.nyc.gov
34 Antonio Reynoso areynoso@council.nyc.gov
35 Laurie A. Cumbo LCumbo@council.nyc.gov
36 Robert E. Cornegy, Jr. district36@council.nyc.gov
37 Rafael L. Espinal Jr. REspinal@council.nyc.gov
38 Carlos Menchaca info38@council.nyc.gov
39 Brad Lander lander@council.nyc.gov
40 Mathieu Eugene meugene@council.nyc.gov
41 Alicka Ampry-Samuel District41@council.nyc.gov
42 Inez Barron Ibarron@council.nyc.gov
43 Justin Brannan AskJB@council.nyc.gov
44 Kalman Yeger AskKalman@council.nyc.gov
45 Vacant district45@council.nyc.gov
46 Alan N. Maisel AMaisel@council.nyc.gov
47 Mark Treyger MTreyger@council.nyc.gov
48 Chaim M. Deutsch cdeutsch@council.nyc.gov
49 Deborah Rose DROSE@Council.nyc.gov
50 Steven Matteo SMatteo@council.nyc.gov
51 Joseph C. Borelli borelli@council.nyc.gov

Cancer

  • Resources:
    • Cancer and Careers – www.cancerandcareers.org
      • “empowers and educates people with cancer to thrive in their workplace”
      • 159 West 25th Street, 8th Fl., New York, NY 10001
    • CancerCare – www.cancercare.org
      • “dedicated to providing free, professional support services including counseling, support groups, educational workshops, publications and financial assistance to anyone affected by cancer.”
      • (800) 813-4673; info@cancercare.org
      • 275 Seventh Ave., New York, NY 10001
      • Also provides: Connect Education Workshops & Community Programs

Prostate Cancer

  • “In New York County, New York from 2011-2015, there were 5,262 new cases of Prostate Cancer. For every 100,000 men, 129 Prostate Cancer cases were reported. (0.13%)
    Over those years, there were 736 men who died of Prostate Cancer. For every 100,000 men in New York County, New York, 21 died of Prostate Cancer.”
    • Citation: U.S. Cancer Statistics Working Group. U.S. Cancer Statistics Data Visualizations Tool, based on November 2017 submission data (1999-2015): U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and National Cancer Institute; www.cdc.gov/cancer/dataviz, June 2018.

Testicular Cancer

  • “In New York County, New York from 2011-2015, there were 289 new cases of Testicular Cancer. For every 100,000 men, 6 Testicular Cancer cases were reported. (0.006%)
    Over those years, there were <16 men who died of Testicular Cancer in New York County, New York.”
    • Citation: U.S. Cancer Statistics Working Group. U.S. Cancer Statistics Data Visualizations Tool, based on November 2017 submission data (1999-2015): U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and National Cancer Institute; www.cdc.gov/cancer/dataviz, June 2018.

Heart Disease

Stroke

Diabetes

  • *In 2018, 10.8% of men in New York were diagnosed as having diabetes.
  • In 2016, diabetes was the cause of (NYC):
    • 11 cases of death in men aged 25-34 years (1.5%)
    • 28 cases of death in men aged 35-44 years (2.7%)
    • 86 cases of death in men aged 45-54 years (3.7%)
    • 161 cases of death in men aged 55-64 years 3.6%)
    • 226 cases of death in men aged 65-74 years (4.0%)
    • Source: NYC Health: Summary of Vital Statistics 2016 The City of New York City
  • Resources:
    • Diabetes Education & Resource Center
      • (718) 246-8603
      • 263 7th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215
    • The Naomi Berrie Diabetes Center
      •  (212) 241-3244

*Suicide

  • In 2017, 1,292 men committed suicide in New York. (population: 9,637,462)
  • Age-adjusted Death Rate per 100,000: 12.82 (0.01%)

*Obesity

*state statistics