Local Community Leaders & Influencers

  • Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms— Mayor
    • (404) 330-6100
  • Fulton County Board of Health— (404) 613-1205
    • Center for Health & Rehabilitation – (404) 613-5835
      • 265 Boulevard N.E Atlanta, GA 30312
  • Atlanta City Council:
    • District 1: Carla Smith – csmith@atlantaga.gov
    • District 2: Amir R. Farokhi – arfarokhi@atlantaga.gov
    • District 3: Antonio Brown – antoniobrown@atlantaga.gov
    • District 4: Cleta Winslow – cwinslow@atlantaga.gov
    • District 5: Natalyn Archibong – narchibong@atlantaga.gov
    • District 6: Jennifer N. Ide – jnide@atlantaga.gov
    • District 7: Howard Shook – hshook@atlantaga.gov
    • District 8: J.P Matzigkeit – jpmatzigkeit@atlantaga.gov
    • District 9: Dustin Hills – aboone@atlantaga.gov
    • District 10: Andrea Boone – aboone@atlantaga.gov
    • District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet – mcoverstreet@atlantaga.gov
    • District 12: Joyce M Shepherd – jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov


Cancer

  • Resources:
    • Cancer Support Community-Atlanta – (404) 843-1880
    • American Cancer Society, Atlanta – 404-816-7800
      • 250 Williams St NW Atlanta, GA 30303

Prostate Cancer

  • “In Fulton County, Georgia from 2012-2016, there were 3,035 new cases of Prostate Cancer. For every 100,000 men, 141 Prostate Cancer cases were reported.

    Over those years, there were 450 men who died of Prostate Cancer. For every 100,000 men in Fulton County, Georgia, 30 died of Prostate Cancer.”
  • Citation: U.S. Cancer Statistics Working Group. U.S. Cancer Statistics Data Visualizations Tool, based on November 2018 submission data (1999-2016): U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and National Cancer Institute; www.cdc.gov/cancer/dataviz, June 2019.

Testicular Cancer

  • “In Fulton County, Georgia from 2012-2016, there were 101 new cases of Testicular Cancer. For every 100,000 men, 4 Testicular Cancer cases were reported.

    Over those years, there were <16 men who died of Testicular Cancer in Fulton County, Georgia.”
  • Citation: U.S. Cancer Statistics Working Group. U.S. Cancer Statistics Data Visualizations Tool, based on November 2018 submission data (1999-2016): U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and National Cancer Institute; www.cdc.gov/cancer/dataviz, June 2019.

Heart Disease

  • From 2014 – 2016, the heart disease death rate was 199.5 men per 100,00 people in Fulton County.
    • Source: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (https://nccd.cdc.gov/DHDSPAtlas/Default.aspx?state=GA)

Stroke

  • From 2014 – 2016, the stroke death rate was 40.5 men per 100,000 people in Fulton County
    • Source: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (https://nccd.cdc.gov/DHDSPAtlas/Default.aspx?state=GA)

Diabetes

Pre-Diabetes

  • In 2016, 19.2% of men aged 20+ in Fulton County reported severe physical inactivity. Physical inactivity and obesity are the most common and significant indicators of diabetes.


*Suicide

  • In 2017, 1,106 men committed suicide in South Carolina. (population: 5,075,507)

Age-adjusted Death Rate per 100,000 men: 21.82

  • Resources:
    • Georgia Crisis & Access Line – (800) 715-4225
    • Fulton County Behavioral Access & Informational Line – (404) 612-1211

*Obesity

  • In 2017, 29.7% men were diagnosed as being obese in Georgia.
    • Source: The State of Obesity (https://www.stateofobesity.org/states/GA/)

*state statistics